Tunas Sawa Erma (TSE) Group started its journey in the oil palm plantation business in 1998 in Boven Digoel and Merauke, Papua. Until 2021, TSE Group through its subsidiaries already has six oil palm plantations located in Boven Digoel and Merauke districts. They are under the of PT TSE, PT Dongin Prabhawa (DP) and PT Berkat Cipta Abadi (BCA).

The TSE Group’s journey began when TSE obtained a Forest Area Release Permit from the Ministry of Forestry for 14 thousand hectares (ha) of land in Boven Digoel. In the same year, the company started planting oil palm seedlings on an area of ​​2,501 ha which has continued to grow until this now.

Until 2020, TSE Group has succeeded in planting oil palm plants in four active plantation areas which have an area of ​​approximately 46 thousand hectares (ha). The total production of Fresh Fruit Bunches (FFB) is more than 894 thousand tons.

TSE has three plantation areas, they are POP-A, POP-B and POP-E. Only POP-E has not planted oil palm due to the company’s policy to reinstate the temporary moratorium on new development.

A similar challenge occurs with BCA, to be precise the POP-D area in Merauke. BCA has obtained land use rights (HGU) permits for around 10 thousand ha, but it has not yet been planted.

In addition to POP-D, BCA has a plantation area at POP-C in Merauke, which has started the process of planting oil palm in 2012. As of 2016, the land area has reached 11 thousand hectares, which decreased in 2020 due to the transfer to plasma land.

Meanwhile, DP for the first time started planting plantations in 2011 in Merauke. In 2016, DP built a CPO mill with a capacity of 50 tonnes per hour which will be doubled by 2021.